Live-in carer for physically disabled lady, 43 – Full Time –

Social Care

* Norwich.

* Week on / week off.

* No experience required.

Hi, my name’s Kirsty, and I’m looking for a live-in carer. Born in 1978 with a condition called Spinal Muscular Atrophy (Type II), I have been in an electric wheelchair all my life. I have full feeling throughout my whole body but I have very limited strength in my muscles. I need a carer to help me live independently in my flat in Norwich.

What the job involves:

* Personal care – all help with getting up, going to bed, hoisting, washing, dressing, toileting, etc (what I tell people who haven’t done this sort of work before is that whatever you do for yourself, I need doing for me).

* Domestic – cooking, shopping, cleaning, washing, ironing, etc.

* Maintenance – looking after the flat, garden, and disability equipment.

* Driving – often dropping me off with friends / family and keeping yourself entertained whilst waiting with the car.

* Facilitation – running errands, accompanying me on outings and trips away.

Hours:

I need somebody to be available at all times, therefore the position is 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Carers are provided with their own bedroom, and all other facilities are shared only with myself. Working weeks are alternate, so you would be living with me for one week, Tuesday to Tuesday, then the following week you would go home to allow my other carer to move in for this time.

Other job info:

* Probationary period of 12 weeks, which then becomes a permanent position if we’re both happy.

* 20 days paid annual holiday.

* Full pension scheme.

* Double pay on bank holidays.

Person specification:

* Eligible to work in the UK.

* Excellent English.

* No criminal record.

* Full UK driving licence, comfortable behind the wheel of a small semi-automatic van (sometimes 6-8 hours driving per day).

* Availability for work in excess of 6 months.

* Good physical health – strong upper-body, and no history of back problems.

* Flexibility – prepared to provide holiday cover and emergency cover on weeks off in case of sickness.

* Sociable and friendly.

* Good at keeping yourself entertained.

* Boys or girls considered.

* Experience is not a requirement, although you must be practical, and a fast learner.

A bit more about me:

As we live together, the relationship between myself and my carers is obviously quite close. Therefore it is important that we get on well. Just so you get a bit of a better idea about who I am, here is some more stuff…

Family and friends – important to me. Love them and see them often.

I’m quite a happy person, and am not interested in sulkers. I consider myself to be a good communicator, and appreciate this in others.

I’ve got a degree in English Literature, and although I pretend to like reading, TV is better.

TV – love it, and watch far too much of it… Fleabag, House, His Dark Materials, Sherlock, Spooks, Dexter, CSI, Suits, Utopia, Breaking Bad. I also enjoy a bit of Strictly, Gogglebox, Bake Off, filthy reality TV, or a good documentary about weird stuff / people.

Food – obsessed. I love cooking, and eating out.

Music – Ed Sheeran, Damien Rice, Jack Johnson, Lily Allen, James, Killers, Mumford & Sons, the Lumineers, Paulo Nutini, Passenger, George Ezra, 60s, 80s, cheesy pop.

I’m quite a home bunny. I like my computer, and can spend hours pottering on it.

As a result of my disability, I am clinically extremely vulnerable to coronavirus. Because of this, the right applicant will need to be fully vaccinated and have had their booster. I will also need you to be prepared to do regular lateral flow testing, and take any other reasonable measures to sufficiently mitigate your own personal risk of infection.

If you are interested, please send me a message telling me a bit about yourself. I’ll then get back in touch with any applicants who catch my eye, and if I shortlist you for an interview we can meet up to have a chat and get to know each other a bit better. Thanks for reading me, and I look forward to hearing from you…

Salary: £1190/week

Job Type: Permanent

Location: NR1, Lakenham, Norfolk

To apply for this job please visit www.cv-library.co.uk.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.